Mortgages

Rob-oz

Hi all, 

I couldn't find anywhere to introduce myself, so Hi :)

Im Rob, currently living in the UK, hoping to move to Australia with my family one day....

I'm very early on in the stages having completed the PTE test to give me an extra needed 20 points, and my work stuff has been submitted to TRA.

I'm using an agent as my case is not completely straight forward, but appears to be acceptable to achieve our dream.

So I've been hovering around the forum for a couple of months now, as well as looking on job sites, (seek) housing sites (realestate) and the Aus gov sites for schools and what not..

I have a cousin living in QLD (citizen) who I will no doubt be badgering lots later on in the process, so I'm trying to spare him the agro right now, and pester you lovely lot :) Queensland would be my first choice of location, followed by NSW.

My first question to you all is regarding housing, and more specifically, mortgages... (its very early on I know, but I'm spending this waiting time researching everything I possibly can)

My understanding is that as a PR we would be able to get a mortgage, hopefully that parts correct?

How long would I have needed to work before I would be accepted? (we would have a deposit, at a wild guess looking for 50-70% loan to value)

I wouldn't not be looking to buy a house straight away even if I could, that seems like a crazy idea before ensuring were happy where we are with work, schools, amenities etc, but not owning our property is one of my biggest "fears" / concerns... I'm not sure if the rental prices are higher than they are mortgage repayments like the UK, but its still money down the pan, and less security in my mind.

The other part of my question in is regards to mortgage loan amounts compared to income, is it worked out on a similar basis as I am used to, i.e. X x annual income?

Thanks for the great info provided on the site, there really is tonnes of useful reading :)

HI Rob