Advice before submitting EOI

Hello, 

I am looking for advice before I complete and submit an Expression of Interest.

I am looking into the Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189 points tested), I have a BA degree in Primary Studies and roughly 3 years experience as a Nanny and Early Childhood Educator. My partner will be coming with me, we are not married, but have been together for nearly 3 years and lived together for 2....does he need his own visa or can we go on one?

Looking at the points table I have 45 points (mainly because I am only 24 and have under 3 years post graduate experience) but would have more points if I could prove superior English. Does anyone know how easy it is to prove the superior English? I have lived in Scotland my own life, have Highers and a Batchelor Degree, would that be sufficient? 

Or would it make more sense to wait until I have more points on the age and work experience? (if so, can I submit the EOI before, as am only 6 months away from hitting the age?)

Thank you in advance,

StevieNLetti :)

Your de facto partner could be included on your visa application, to be granted a separate visa, but from what you have posted your prospects of qualifying for skilled migration do not look promising.

May I suggest that you consult a registered migration agent for advice about developing a visa strategy?

• Like 1

Take an IELTS English test, a score of 8 or above in each of the areas will get you 20 additional points. After speaking with a migration agent, she told me about how New Zealand residents are now subject to the same points based migration system as we are which means we are now in a larger pool of people all trying to get their hands on limited numbers of visa invitations which means more points are ultimately needed to set yourself above the rest as they invite the highest points holders first.