A few visa questions

Sang

Hi, this is the first time I have visited this forum properly and I am hoping for some advise. My husband and I have finally decided to take the plunge and would love to start the process to move over to Australia. Wanted to ask a couple of things regarding visas. Firstly I have a Social sciences degree and my area is drug and alcohol counselling.. Migration consultant said we have to see whether my occupation comes back on the list around July time, if it does go forward with this on a 190 visa, state nomination Northern Territory to gain permanent residency for myself and my family.

there maybe a chance that my husband could be given the opportunity to work for his company in Australia. Sales rep industrial products... This is where I am confused, as his job is on what used to be CSOL list, so could his company nominate him and could this be a way in? Or would this ONLY be on a temporary basis? Or could this lead to permanent residency... All this is so confusing! As it would be ideal if he could move with his job as he has worked in uk branch for over five years has great experience etc... But we want the security of permanent residency... We have young family etc... Any advise appreciated. Thanks in advance. ? Consulant didn't seem keen on second option... Said it would involve slot of paperwork...

Edited by snifter
Edited thread title

Hi and welcome.

Your occupation is still on the short term list and sponsorship by a state for a 190 visa is still possible. I have had a look at the NT are still sponsoring this. Though it would likely only offer a 489, which is a visa that leads to pr as long as you adhere to the conditions of living in a regional area for 2 years and work in a regional area for at least one year.