190 visa - job offer?

I've recently had a 189 visa EOI lodged through my visa agent under '233914 Engineering Technologist' which is likely to take time to go forward as the quota for this is full until July, so to hedge my bets I plan to also lodge an EOI for a 190 visa for Victoria.

The agents have said Victoria are very picky and reject a lot of cases, so suggest it may be helpful to try to get a letter from potential employers either showing interest from them or actually of being offered a job. I've done so and applied for jobs/contacted employers with no real success.

I was wondering if anyone else has experience of getting a positive/negative outcome for a 190 Victoria visa, and can advise how important this letter is, bearing in mind time is not on my side for various reasons? Is it worth just going forward with the application as-is, bearing in mind I have 70 points?

Thanks in advance :)

Edited by ExperienceIt
typo

I'm not an expert on this by any means but I think you've been given strange advice there. Everything I've read or been told states that potential employers are unlikely to entertain an application from someone who hasn't already had their visa granted. I've applied for a 190 to Victoria and we're currently waiting for our visa grant but while we were waiting, we thought that my husband may as well try to apply for jobs anyway (he's a telecoms technician) and, sure enough, nobody seems interested without a visa grant. He was able to contact potential employers and some would happily give advice but not a job offer.

It does, of course, depend on your occupation I guess as some are in much more demand than others.

When I applied to Vic as a teacher I had to register with the teaching association there - I guess to show my seriousness (it cost £150 so you wouldn't apply unless serious!). So, maybe your agent is suggesting that you obtain something to show you're serious too?? Not sure...