Construction Project Manager but significant work experince as Contracts Manager/Admin

Suffiane Haroun

Hi Everybody,

I am intending to apply for visa 189 as Construction Project Manager but I am little concerned because I was not actually practicing construction in a strict sense since a while.

So I am working as Contracts Manager (Admin) in construction projects since 10 years, however, I have a Civil Engineering degree and I had around +3 years experience at my early years as Construction engineer. I also have an LLM in Construction Law and Arbitration.  

So my questions are:
- Given the above can I apply for a Construction Project Manager?

- Is there a minimum activities of Construction Project Manager that need to be included in my Company letter of experience under the Contracts Manager? if so what  would be the acceptable minimum match between both positions e.g. 60% or what? 

- What would be the main criteria of assessment that could make it or break it when it comes to a case like mine?

Sorry for the elaboration and looking forward for your advice.

Regards,

SH

Edited by Suffiane Haroun

Hi i am almost in the same boat,

Please looking for an advice as well.

please  want to ask; I have a B.Sc. in Building from my home country in Sub Sahara Africa, and an MSc. in Construction Project Management from The UK, with about 1-3 years experience in the construction industry. My question is should i be applying for project builder or construction project manager? for 189

thank you

• Like 1

From VETASSESS:

Construction Project Manager (ANZSCO Code 133111)

This occupation requires a qualification which is assessed as comparable to the educational level of an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Bachelor degree or higher degree, in a field highly relevant to the nominated occupation.