Melbourne Reccie done, this is what we found!

MissionMelbourne

Hi everyone!

This is just a little insight into what we found in our 9 days in Melbourne. Firstly some background info, I'm a 28yo Electrician and my OH is a 24yo supervisor in a government organisation, we are from, and currently living in a village 25mins from Maidstone in Kent.  We have both become a little disillusioned with life here in the UK hence the idea to move to Aus.

We were attracted to Australia by the better relative earnings in our professions, housing, the outdoors lifestyle, the extra time time at home with family etc etc, basically the standard reasons for Brits who want to move to Australia.

Before we set foot in Australia we had done our research and it certainly sounded like Melbourne would suit us best as we are both into the great outdoors, both love watching live sports and we don't really like the big city environment such as Paris or London amongst other reasons.

We wouldn't be looking to live near the CBD, we were looking at suburbs around an hours train ride from the CBD on the southeastern side of the city so we would be a little more in the country.

So our findings were -
1. We absolutely loved the city, it had a feel and a buzz to it that made the city feel alive
2. We loved the amount of parks and green areas which are disposable to the public
3. We loved the housing options and the costs. We found land, and a dream house to build that would be $240k inside our borrowing limit
4. The roads weren't busy compared to home, even during rush hour the traffic was always moving, sometimes not very fast but as a man who's spent many hours stationary on the m25, this was a vast improvement.
5. The place is just so tidy! Parks, streets, even the grass verges on the freeways were so clean and well presented
6. The people are so welcoming and polite
7. The sports! Wow, if you haven't been to Melbourne before, there is some kind of top level sport on every night here.