Starting salary for new permanent resident

Kurt

Hi,

I have over ten years of experience in software development in London. I understand that the software market hubs in Australia are in Melbourne and Sydney. Sydney is more expensive than Melbourne and I know that salaries in Sydney are higher but as a new migrant I suspect that even on a permanent residency visa and good prospects of advancement in the future I will not initially get a salary that is competitive for my experience (which would also allow me to live comfortably and save).

What are your thoughts? I have worked years in London to be in the salary bracket that I am and I'm not sure I'll get an equivalent salary on my first job in Australia. If that is the case would I

- Be better off in Melbourne where the cost of living is smaller while I work my way up salarywise?

- Be earning a salary in the same ballpark as in Sydney (if new skilled migrants generally earn less at first?)

Thanks

What makes you think you won't be competitive salary wise?  Are you skills not in demand or would you be in a very competitive jobs environment?  Your questions are too broad to be able to answer with any sense.  Tell us what jobs you're looking for, or at least what languages.  Have you checked out SEEK or contacted some recruiters?

Also, I'm in Brisbane and I know several software devs, so I wouldn't necessarily discount the smaller cities straight off the bat.