VISA advice to move to live/work in Aus

josielondon

Hi,

I am looking for some advice as to what visa would be the most sensible for me to get.

- I am hoping to move to Australia (Melbourne) in approx. September 2018

- I have been living with my Australian partner for 9 months

- I want to be able to work in Australia when I get there. I am currently a Digital Account Manager with 4.5 years work experience in marketing.

So as I see it, my options are:

1. De facto spouse visa which I can apply for once we have been together for 12 months which will be in June... I'm a bit put off by this one, firstly because it is insanely expensive and I don't really see how I will get £4k together by June assuming you have to pay for the visa when you submit your application (anyone know different to this?) Also we will then have to submit proof of our relationship which is doable but I imagine difficult, then it seems to take 12-18 months so even assuming everything is fine when we submit in June, t still may not be ready in time for September 2018.

2. Skilled work visa - I can't work out if I would be eligible for this. I was considering submitting an EOI but the problem then is that once you get interest you have to submit your application within 60 days and I have no idea/can't work out from the website how long this is likely to take and if I submitted one now if that would be way way too early to actually get it.

3. Working holiday visa - major downsides of this being it only covers you for a year and you can only work in one place for up to 6 months which would make things difficult career wise. And once I'm over there we'd end up having to apply for one of the above two anyway!

Does anyone have any advice or thoughts?

Thanks

Josie

1. Yes expensive and yes you pay at the time of submitting