About to give up and head back

Robzster

Hi all, I am having some issues at work. I am here on a 457 and have been since July 2014. Everything has been ok up until the tail end of last year. I currently work as a conveyor belt Splicer doing fifo in the Pilbara, sub contracted to FMG Christmas creek mine, 2/1 roster. Around December last year FMG at Christmas creek decided to remove the scaffolders from site, I guess to save money. That is when it was announced that my conveyor belt company was to take over the scaffolding duties. Now my company is attempting to force us into scaffold training, I have already expressed my safety concerns over this and the fact that I have no desire to be a scaffolder. I was verbally threatened with the sack if I did not comply with this training. I also believe that doing that job would breach my 457 conditions as it does not mention anything about scaffold duties on my visa and 99% of the scaffold has nothing to do with conveyor belts.

Has anyone else came up against these bullying tactics? I am pretty mad as this company got me and my family over here with all the promises of PR sponsorship etc which have now all disappeared, of all the 457s they got to Australia(think there was around 20) there is only 2 left. So I think they got their fingers burnt and lost a lot of money through the 457 scheme and now we are paying the price.

No one seems to be able to give a divinitive answer. Feel like just chucking it and heading home to be honest. Sorry for the long rant 

Might be worth posting the specific question about the job change in the " ask an agent" part of the forum. I think you are right though they cannot just change the job you are doing.

So many people believe that the 457 will lead to PR and believe employers promises only to find themselves without a path to PR.