Hiii Newbie who needs advice.

Bridey

Hi literally joined this week and this is my first post.

Me and my husband have decided we really want to emigrate to Australia. It's been on the cards for a while after we spent a year back packing around 10yrs ago but life's been in the way. We now have 2 son's 7 and 4yrs old and for them we really want to make a go at a new life not too bothered about area as loved it all. I have raynauds so really suffer the cold and my little boys are SO active, love the outdoors but the weather just doesn't permit it. We are sick of freezing rainy days and dark nights.

Literally no idea where to begin? I think our best chance will be with my husband. He is 36 and a Structural Designer in Oil and Gas. We are not sure wether to try and get a job or a visa or if we could even get a visa. I'm 33 and my job is in Social Media (for which I have no qualifications) but I am a fully qualified Beauty Therapist which has no point in SOL anyway ha!

Can anyone give any advice where to start or ideally an agent recommendation as we need some professional help.

Thanks in advance.

Hi B

He is 37 next month and did a 5yr apprenticeship in Structural Design which has given him an HNC. I believe his job is on the list but different countries use different terms. For example he would not say he is an engineer but has been described as that in other job roles. He is very experienced and we have lived in Spain and Texas with his jobs before.

x

You do need to talk to an agent I expect, but as a start point look at the various occupation codes for engineers/engineering technologists and what the criteria are for demonstrating qualification/skills in these areas. Most of the assessments are done through Engineers Australia and there is lots of info on their website too.