British qualifications & skills - construction industry

Harvey21

Hi all,

I'm just interested to know what Australia's general perspective and view is on British skills and qualifications? I appreciate this is quite a broad question. I work in construction (about seven years on the tools and 3 years on the PM side of things) and when i look at jobs in Australia, i often find that they ask for 'knowledge of the local construction market or words to that affect. I obviously don't have this so any advice would be much appreciated as how best to mitigate for this? Visa secured and I will be moving to Brisbane in May.

Thanks again

The skills are pretty much the same and SOME of the qualifications are (especially in white collar/management roles where things like UK Engineering Institutions/RICS etc are recognised, and PM qualifications are to some extent understood and accepted). On the trade side the qualifications aren't generally recognised and local licenses have to be obtained, as the skills are essentially the same this isn't hard but it is a pain

Some of the custom and practice is different, especially in the way work is procured and the way contracts are managed. On big projects there's a lot more contractual litigation than in the UK. Unions and employment law works differently. Some techniques and common materials are different. Checking/sign off/statutory approvals work differently. Commercial staff are organised differently

Knowledge of the local market is really about understanding these differences in custom and practice, and building up your network of contacts in customers and suppliers. We all have to go through a learning curve and rebuild our networks, so some of this you just have to grin and bear it. I think it's a bit overdone because as per the above, the skills aren't really different, it's just the local knowledge, and that can be picked up *fairly* quickly