The first three months and how it has been.

The Raillys

So we have been here just over three months and are surprised how settled we are already.

Found a great rental in Moreton bay area (North of Brisbane and still just a 40 minute train journey to the CBD.)

WORK

In London I worked as a contractor and freelancer in the Tech industry. I really wanted to continue this in Brisbane.

I found my first contract before I even left the UK and was working within 3 days of touch down.

Everything has been great but now my contract is ending I am finding it very hard to find my next piece of work.

I have had some situations which have really made me think that the Brisbane Contract market is seriously behind the times.

I was offered a contract earlier this week, however they decided to change the offer that I originally applied for. It was an averagly paid day rate. And they wished for me to be on a fixed term contract - which was essentially a salary without any benefits. This happened after the interview and after they decided they wanted me.

I would have never gone for the interview, had of this been the offer to begin with. This is something I never experience in 12 years of contracting in London, and it seems to me there is a serious misunderstanding of what a contractor is.

I also was rejected for a 6 month contract by a company as they said I appeared to be a "serial contractor" Which begs the question, why are they looking for a contractor?