Employment requirements for 189/190 visa application

peachybonbon

Hello,

I would really appreciate any assistance with fulfilling the criteria for the sub class 189/190 skilled visa applications.

Just a bit of background to my current situation - I came to Australia from the UK in July 2012 to study on exchange but ended up transferring to a university in Sydney thereby completing my degree in Australia.

This has allowed me to fulfil the two year study requirement at an undergraduate level.

I was then granted a temporary graduate visa at the beginning of 2015 which allows me to stay until June 2017.

I have been working for the NSW government since May 2015 but have only been in a direct policy role since April of this year (2016). I have done a couple of free points assessments and if I nominate my occupation as a 'Policy Analyst (224412)' with my native English language skills and education I am achieving around 70 points each time.

I was wondering how long you would have to have worked within your nominated occupation to be eligible to use it to apply for the 189/190 visa as I do not have the money currently to pay for a skills assessment from VETASSESS especially if it is probable it will be negative.

Thank you!

You say you are getting 70 points on your points calculations. I would recommend getting a second opinion on your points just to be on the safe side that there's nothing you have missed.

Policy Analyst on a 189/190 might be tricky - you would need a Vetassess skills assessment. it's also not on the SOL. I would recommend exploring employer sponsorship as a more fruitful line of inquiry.

Regards,

Richard

Edited by Richard Gregan

Hello,

I would really appreciate any assistance with fulfilling the criteria for the sub class 189/190 skilled visa applications.

Policy Analyst (224412) is not on the SOL so 189 is not possible. That means you will need State or Territory sponsorship.