In the process of applying for acs skill assessment

ankit1987

Hi, I want apply for acs skill assessment for 261313 Software Engineer. I've done BSc in Electronics from Delhi university in 2008. After that I joined wipro as a software Engineer. From Wipro I've done MS in software Engineering from BITS Pillani and got my degree in 2012 December. It was a 4 year program in collaboration with wipro wherein we used to work in weekdays and study in weekends. I worked as a software engineer from Oct 2008 till date. I want to get my skills assessed by acs. I've 65 overall in all PTE modules. Also my age is 29. I just wannt to check If I'm eligible for 189 or not?

Hi Ankit,

From your user name and history I assume you're about 29 years old so it looks like 30 points for age and 10 for English (but note that "overall" isn't the key for scoring points, you mustn't have any score under the minimum, in this case 65 on the PTE Academic test). Delhi Uni degree should be worth 15 points so the critical issues are claiming work experience points and the choice of occupation if you have a choice. Software Engineer is currently at 65 points (indeed all the SOL IT occupations are at 65 points at the moment) so you'd need 5 claimable years of work experience (for 10 points) or some other point scoring options. Note that the ACS deeming date policy would deduct either two or four years from your claimable work experience.

Also worth noting that a lot of the major Indian consulting firms tend to make it hard for people to obtain evidence of their work experience by having a policy of not authorising employment references.

Good luck!

Cheers,

George Lombard

Hi Ankit -