Residence Requirements for getting citizenship.

kulsumt

Hi. I am a Chartered Accountant from Bangalore, India. Me & my family got the PR visa on 01/06/2012. It is a skilled sponserd visa. We all made our first entry in October 2012 & stayed in Perth for 8 days & returned back. Me the primary applicant alone made a second entry in March 2014 & stayed there for 60days till April 30th 2014 & returned back. Now our visa is getting expired in June 2017. According to the immigration website our PR starts from the date of our first arrival i.e. from October 22nd 2012. Therefore our fifth year of PR starts from October 22nd 2016. As we all have the 8 days stay of our first arrival, now we are planning to arrive in AU by this October 30th 2016. If we do so are we fulfilling the residence requirement of 12 months stay in PR period & later we continue to stay for 3 more years there without exit & complete our four years stay. If so are we eligible to get citizenship? After the expiry of our visa if we stay there do we have to renew it? If we need RRV when we shoul apply June or October?Kindly reply to my queries & do the needful. I have very short period now. Just 1 week time left for our departure. Thank u.M M TaherChartered Accountantant

Edited by VERYSTORMY
forum rules

As above, your visa and all of its time points are from date of grant not first entry.

In in order to get citizenship, you need to have held a visa for 4 years, you must not have been out of Oz for more than a total of 12 months in the 4 years and no more than 90 days in the year prior to application.

Your visa never expires, only the travel portion expires 5 years after grant. Therefore, if you don't leave the country after that, you do not need a rrv.

Thank u. But as per website visa granted offshore, the PR starts from the date of first arrival right? How about our early stay of 2 months 8 days, will it be calculated for the 4 years if stay for citizenship?