Student Visa - does anyone from the UK have experience?

SummerHQ

Hi there

I'm looking to hear experience from anyone who has applied for a Student Visa from the UK?

Is this pretty straight forward or do I need a migration agent?

I've had a quote from a migration agent for £750 but this seems a lot when the visa is about £280 ?

I'm a mature student (36 years old, single, no dependants)

Many thanks :)

Hi SummerHQ

I am preparing to apply for mine in the next few weeks (I can't apply until 90 days before my start date which is the 30th of Jan) but I'm pulling all the paperwork together now and it seems pretty straight forward and the system guides you through all the information needed. The only bit that's got me thinking at the moment is writing a statement for a "Genuine Temporary Entrant" - I may post a thread on this late to ask for help!

Hi Vixenator!

That's awesome - they are my timescales too. What are you looking to study and what are you plans? It would be great to keep in touch! Genuine Temporary Resident means that we've reason to go back home and funds to do so.

Have you got your offer from your college yet? Where are you looking to go?

Sorry for all the questions, but it's just so nice to meet someone in the same boat!!

:)

No problem with the questions! Would be more than happy to keep in touch as you says its nice to know somebody in the same boat!

I’m studying an Advanced Diploma in Leadership and Management at the Australian National Institute of Business and Technology. Got my CoE all sorted and paid for the OSHC for me and the hubby and we fly out on the 31st of Dec. Getting really excited now but a bit scared about leaving work and the secure salary etc. but we have saved to see us through.

What and where will you be studying? I’m 32 so a mature student too! x

Oh that's awesome!