benefits of 189 visa over 457?

theleggates

Hi,

I moved back to Scotland last October after being on a 457 visa in WA but we are now thinking to move back to Australia next year as a permanent move. I have a wife, a 3 year old and a 4 month old at the moment and we will be staying in Scotland till he is a year old but after that we would like to return and I have been thinking a 189 visa would be better as I am not tied to one place of work.

I am just wondering what benefits the 189 has over a 457 as it is a lot more money. The worry with the 457 is if for whatever reason the company that sponsors me for the 457 (I am a car mechanic) dosent work out then I will be forced to move back to the uk if I can't find another employer to take me on.

Does a 189 visa help with costs such as child care and schooling compared to a 457?

Does it also cover more medical costs that a 457 dosent cover?

I have heard the 189 visa being called permanent residency...is that what it is? I understand that is completely different to citizenship but when we were on the 457 we were told after 2 years we could apply for permanent residency so is does that mean transferring to a 189?

Just trying to figure out what visa to go for then we will have to decide what areas we would like to move to and then contact possible employers to see how many car mechanic jobs are available. In the end where we go will probably be decided by what job offers I can get.

Thanks!