VETASSESS Skills Assessment for 133111 Construction Project Manager NEGATIVE

Matthew Molder

So about 10 weeks after submitting my backup documents for my skills assessment as a Construction Project Manager, I received a response from VETASSESS. Unfortunately they found my Educational and Work backgrounds to be irrelevant and gave me a negative assessment. I have Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Interior Design...which I knew was a little bit of a stretch but was hoping it would have at least been considered like an architectural degree would, as I'm very well-versed in building code requirements and construction-related codes and can easily read a set of construction documents.

What really surprised me was the negative assessment of my work experience. I have worked as a project manager the last 5-1/2 years and they deemed it irrelevant?!? My firm specializes in client-side construction related project management, and I tried to cater my resume and job description as closely to the ANZCO code description as possible (without lying of course!).

Does anyone think I have any chance of a successful appeal to my assessment? I was really hoping to apply for a 189 visa but am considering a Work and Holiday visa if that's my only option. I turn 30 in August so this is my last chance! Any tips/advice would be greatly appreciated. I was quite frustrated last night and did an impulse buy of guidance/feedback from an online migration agent and am scheduled to talk to them early next week...hopefully they'll have some positive feedback. Will keep everyone posted of any good news!