Getting a credit card

Chortlepuss

Back in the UK after 9 years. My UK credit card lapsed in my absence and it would be pretty handy to have another. I've got very healthy savings and own a home so a lot of collateral but no income - I work as an IT contractor but have yet to secure a contract (only back a couple of weeks). My bank have already said I can't have a credit card, even a very low balance one due to no regular income. According to bank do have an excellent rating score though (the best - not that it helps) I looked at pre-paid credit cards where you deposit a sum but they only give you about £200 as a limit (I'd want about £3k). My hubby will probably secure temp work as well (supply teaching).

i always pay credit card balances off each month but it would be handy to have one to organise my purchases, provide protection of purchases and build up a credit history again. Is it worth applying for one of the dubious 'poor credit rating' cards or should I just suck it up, continue paying for stuff in cash/debit card and hope my bank will be sweeter once I've secured a contract?

I'd not apply for one of the dubious ones.

Credit cards have become much harder to get in recent years and for good reason. If you have the money in your account I don't see what the problem is paying on a debit card personally. They are fine and saves having to worry about paying a bill to clear a balance each month too. If later on your want a card, try again but you may find you don't miss it anyways by then.

We mostly used our debit cards for stuff in the UK. We had credit cards but in this day and age, most things can be bought and paid for with ease with a debit card.