Moving to Hobart from Dallas TX

axlcalvin

Firstly hi everyone! I am a 32 year old guy currently in Dallas TX. I am a Lead Software Developer/Consultant. I have been in the states for 8 years and am Indo-Portuguese by descent who was born in India. :wink:

I am also an Australian permanent resident. I have always wanted to live and work in Australia. So I decided that 2016 would be the year that I'd take a leap of faith and move half way around the world.

I have got a great new job in Hobart and will be moving in the last week of December. I wanted to get some inputs /advice from you guys. I know this forum is for poms specifically but i know you blokes have been helping folks from other parts as well with some great friendly advice.

Due to the timing of my arrival, I will have to hit the ground running. I will be arriving with a clean slate. All I will have with me is my passport and US driver's license. I am staying in a hotel for the first week and so need to understand how I can go ahead and find a place to rent along with buying a car (obviously getting the license as well). I have been looking through websites like gumtree and realestate.com for cars and rental places. Most people need me to be in Hobart which is fair enough. I could use all the advice I can get. It would be great to make some friends as well as I do not have a single friend or acquaintance in Hobart as of this time. So I hope to meet great new people. Thanks!

Welcome to Hobart!

Most real estate agents want a prospective renter to inspect the property personally before signing a lease. Having secured employment already should be a distinct bonus for you as they will want proof of employment. There is another new arrival in Hobart in PIO - PommyPaul - and my impression is that he secured a rental fairly quickly once he had employment.

Do you know the actual location of your work? That could help target the areas in which you should search for accommodation.

For cars these might help: