What's my chances/options?

bluerob

Hi all,

New to forum so hello. I've been using the site for a while for information, so no doubt my questions have been asked before but my circumstances differ from everyone else.

So basically I want to move to Oz, I've done the online assessments etc, all seems ok but it doesn't answer if I can actually get a visa or not.

So my situation, I'm 31, too old to do the 2 year working visa. My mother & step dad live about an hour away from Adelaide on a plot of land and built a house, they are both now Australian residents. I work as a motorcycle mechanic in England and have done for 3 years but I don't have the qualifications that are required. I am a certified Motorcycle MOT tester, and I also have a degree in Journalism. But I want to stay in as a bike mechanic.

Ive contacted 1st contact, but they have not come back to me with an appropriate option, they said I can still go on a 1 year working visa and then apply for another visa whilst there, but that would cost me an astronomical amount.

I can possibly have a job offer as well. If it is required my mum can get me a job.

So is there an option for me that doesn't cost the earth? So I've got parental support, 3 years of experience in the required field of work I want, I'm a UK resident since birth so my English is good, I have no ties to the UK, no kids etc. The only thing I don't have is a motorcycle mechanic qualification but is experience enough? I want to move as soon as I can but I don't want to do a college course in mechanics that would take a further 3 years.

Ive had enough of the UK, and want out!

Google 'Australia SOL immigration' and 'Australia CSOL immigration' and see if your profession is on either list.

If it is, you can qualify for a skilled visa (SOL) or state sponsored (CSOL) skilled visa.

If your profession is not on either list, then no options on skilled.visa front that I'm aware of.