Gap in CV due to moving to Australia - how to tackle this?

Sydneynorthsider

Hi everyone!

I need some advice on how to tackle the gap in my CV that's getting bigger and bigger due to the fact that I am still looking for work.

I moved here in January. Last month I started doing some freelance work in a related field to my normal career (in which I have 15 years experience) which I have added to the CV. But that still leaves a 7 month gap I need to account for.

I certainly haven't been sitting on my bum all that time! I came here on a prospective marriage visa and planned a wedding for over 80 guests in just three months whilst also finding somewhere to live and moving in. (Wouldn't recommend doing all that together, by the way! It was very stressful.)

Plus there was looking after wedding guests from England, preparing the next stage of the visa as well as job hunting.

How did you explain your gap in employment - if you had one?

Any tips gratefully received! x

I don't think a gap like that is all that big a deal given that you just moved to the other side of the world.

If you need to mention it on your CV then why not just classify it as simply "emigration". It's quite understandable that you had a lot on your plate at that time. And in any case, if you wished to elaborate, then you could do that in a covering letter or interview for any job application.

I gotta say, moving and planning a wedding in three months whilst not working doesn't sound like a big deal to me, I wouldn't make too much of that, might look like you can't do more than one thing at once!

But I also agree with the previous poster, that this is no big deal, I probably wouldn't go beyond saying that you were having some "me time" to get married, settle in, explore and enjoy your new surroundings.