Secondary School teacher Looking for AITSL advice

Tommyers

Hello,

Just to set the scene...

I am a Secondary school teacher working in the UK. I have 10 years of teaching experience, a BSC degree, a PGCE and management experience. I am married to an Australian National and we have three children. We are looking to migrate to Australia within the next six to nine months.

Initially I thought that the spouse Visa would be the most suitable, however, after contacting the immigration offices it appears that they are currently taking 10-14 months to process, which is simply too long.

So I am now looking into the skilled independent working Visa (189). I am aware that before I can submit the EOI, or complete the Skillselect form, I need to obtain a 'Suitable Skills Assessment' for teaching. So I started to fill out the AITSL form for Secondary school teachers. I can get certified copies of all of the documents they require but I am slightly stumped by the 'Supervised teaching practice' document. This document was not one which was provided by my PGCE course and it seems counter-intuitive to ask for proof of 45 days in-class teaching when I could get my current principal to certify the 10 years worth of teaching!? It seems very strange to me that the form doesn't even ask for current employment status or actual teaching experience. Am I even filling out the correct Visa?

Any help or assistance would be greatly appreciated,

Tom

Sorry cannot help you with the visa but I have read that some people get a bridging visa whilst their visa is being processed. A migration agent may be able to assist you in the process.

As for the teaching, which State are you heading to. Letting the forum know where you are headed will get you more information as each State is different and has its own State Government.