You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

CHill

Aus Citizens moving to Australia as Adults.Costs/Process/Applications/FireBrigade job

Afternoon,

I am an Australian Citizen with 2 children under 2 and a husband who is currently a fireman. I work as a makeup artist.

We obviously have no visa worries but I have LOTS of questions!

We are planning on moving to Sydney & initially renting.

• Is there a website/source anyone knows about that gives you a checklist/moving info?

So far Things on my list are-

• How to organise medicare card
  • How to get Tax file number
  • I have a bank account in Aus but how do I get my husband one?
  • What do we need to have to rent (bank accounts/proof of employment/one million dollars?!)
  • Is there a benefits system I can apply to? (I am due to give birth to my 2nd in November and we are planning on moving in February 2016 so I will probably be unable to work for a few months initially while the baby is so young)
  • As we understand it the NSW Fire Department do not recognise my husband LFB qualifications. Does anyone know of any industries that a fireman could be employed in??
  • We have savings to buffer us for a few months but if anyone has recently moved I would love to know your approx costs all up!!

Any advice or links to appropriate advice would be massively appreciated!

Thanks

Is your husband an Aus citizen too? If not he will require a visa.

Medicare - go to a Medicare office with all your documentation

TFN - apply through the ATO

Bank account - you don't get your husband one, he takes along his ID and gets his own

There are threads on here about what to take to prove you are going to be good tenants - references from landlord, bond and months rent up front, a job is handy.

Benefits - register with Centrelink