Should we go for state sponsorship?

Guest Lou76

Hi all, I am about to start doing the paperwork for our visa application and I'm getting a bit confused. We're planning on applying for a skilled independent visa using my skills (I'm an accountant and have already had my skills assessed) and have enough points to do so (as hubby's occupation & age also go in our favour). However I've been reading about state sponsorship, and was wondering if we should go for this first before submitting our application? Or will it not really matter given we seem to be OK points-wise? Any advice greatefully received. Cheers!

Guest Missiemo
Hi all, I am about to start doing the paperwork for our visa application and I'm getting a bit confused. We're planning on applying for a skilled independent visa using my skills (I'm an accountant and have already had my skills assessed) and have enough points to do so (as hubby's occupation & age also go in our favour). However I've been reading about state sponsorship, and was wondering if we should go for this first before submitting our application? Or will it not really matter given we seem to be OK points-wise? Any advice greatefully received. Cheers!

Hi Lou

I guess if you have enough points to do it without state sponsorship then go for it, having state sponsorship just means you have to live in that state for two years.

Good Luck with your decision

Mo

Guest Pesky Varmit

Hi Lou

Depends how quick you want to get there! General Skilled Migration currently takes about 12months to process whereas State/Territory Nominated Independent is priority processed and usually take about 6/7 months. Mo is right also, you will have to work and live in that state for two years. You would need to check if your preferred state needs your skills as the list can differ from the MODL. Hope this helps, good luck with whatever you decide :)

P.S. If you go down STNI route, you can do it online initially!