Salaries UK v AUS

grahamffc

Hi all,

When reading posts most people mention that "salaries are higher in Australia" but while some salaries may be 4x higher wile another might only be marginay higher or even lower. I think it would help the many of prospective migrants who come on this forum if they could find some info about their profession as opposed to a blanket statement. Plus I am curious myself as to which jobs enjoy the biggest increase! I appreciate its personal info that many people will not want to divulge.

It would help to say where both are/were as regions have an impact in both countries.

Ignore exchange rates as they change all the time, and costs of living is a totally different topic and will vary massively depending on situations and lifestyle choices.

Please include super in Australian salaries as it will be your money one day. I'll get the ball rolling:

Accountant:

UK (London): 40,000 GBP

AUS (Melbourne): 75,000 AUD

I worked as a project financial analyst in the UK and am a Finance Administrator here with slightly less responsibility. Both had pension on top of basic salary but I'm not sure exactly how much they are so have left off. Basic salary for each:

UK (Rotherham, but would apply UK wide) 30,000 GBP

Australia (Adelaide) 60,000 AUD

On leaving the UK

Test Manager

UK (Glasgow) £450 per day (contract)

AUS (Perth) $76,000 (permanent)

By the time we returned to the UK

AUS (Perth) $900 per day (contract)

UK (Edinburgh) £525 a day (contract)

Financially much better off in the UK as cost of housing is significantly less.

Edited by Lady Rainicorn

I am not really sure what teaching salaries are like in the UK now. However, in Australia teaching salaries vary from state to state.

In WA a teacher with nine years experience receives $95,459 , whilst a new graduate receives $63,118 as their starting salary. WA teachers are the highest paid in Australia. A teacher who acquires level three status earns $103,090.