visas

Guest alecsonya

Guest alecsonya

I'm a registered nurse i'm wanting to imigrant and be a perminent resident in Australia. What would my fiancee's working rights be and would he be able to become a perminent resident?

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Sonya

I'm not an expert. I'm just trying to help. I think let's avoid 'fiance' and call him a 'Partner' to simplify the concept for me. You two are a 'family unit' is the guts of it, so if you get PR, he does as well.

As far as I know, anyone who has has PR has full work-rights as well. The burble about the Contributory Parent visa says that my mother has full work-rights. She is 86 and disabled but I've advised her to get cracking and get a job so as not to waste this sought-after right.

Seriously though, I'm pretty sure that the answers to your questions are Yes and Yes. Others will probably confirm this if I'm right and if I'm wrong, they'll set you straight.

Cheers

Gill

Hi Sonya,

You'd have no problem, both you and your partner would be classed as 1 family unit, the immigration dept here recognises de-facto relationships an you would have no problem getting a visa on that front as you are engaged.

Your partner once in Australia would have the same rights as yourself with getting work i.e anything apart from those jobs that require you to be an Australian citezen in fields such as defence etc...

You could try asking Phil as he probably khows more aout the ins and outs of these issues.

As Gill has noted, so long as you and your partner can demonstrate that you are in a genuine and ongoing relationship your partner would be granted the same visa as you.

As a guide, if you can demonstrate you have been living together for at least 12 months your partner should be granted a visa on the basis of being your de facto spouse. To evidence this you would usually provide documents such as: