Advice on WHV/Banking/Medicare etc

Alix Fisher

Hi, I am new to this forum and need lots of advice!!

I am applying for my WHV (subclass 417) and at the moment I am a student radiographer up until June 2015 - I am hoping to come in September for a year / two years.. it asks me on the application what my occupation is? - What do I put? That I am a student radiographer until June then I am unemployed until I come to Oz???

I am looking for farm work, I want to apply for this BEFORE I come to oz as I don't want the messing around when I am there - my plans are to fly from UK to Sydney and spend a week or two relaxing and such .. I am wanting farm work also in order to earn money and eventually to be able to apply for my 2nd year visa .. Where should I start? How soon should I apply for work? ETC.

Does anyone have any websites that I can do a welcome week in Sydney - Similar to OzIntro but I want to compare a few..

I am wanting to open up a bank account before I come so I can start transferring money into it from the UK - how easy is it to do? What are the different banks, will I be able to pick up a bank card asap when I arrive in Oz? (I don't want any that offer me a minimum of so many dollars to be able to open it..

How do I apply for Medicare? As I am from the UK- does this entitle me for free health care.. Would this mean I don't need to get travel insurance that covers me for health care? Do I need to get it still to protect my belongings etc as I will be bringing my iPad/Go Pro...

Sorry for the long long post but I really need some advice on it all - many many thanks in advance and safe travels :) Alix

Hello. Welcome to poms in oz.

I'm not sure you would be able to apply for farm work first but I could be wrong. I think they usually want you to start very fast.

The other company I know that do welcome weeks is "ultimate travel". I was going to go with them but I'm not going to now. Just going to do everything myself.