Gold Coast - employment

Aaronspark

Hopefully moving to the Gold Coast next year when the visas come through. Seen mixed reports on the work situation. Im a qualified electrician and having my skills assessed by Vetassess, then Will have to gain my licence upon arrival.

Does anyone have any idea what the work situation is out there? Heard rumours of 30000 trades needed for the work commencing on the commonwealth games. Is this true?

Is there many opportunities for sparks on a restricted licence in Brisbane/Gold coast??

• 2 weeks later...
Yeah I've heard that a lot of people Commute to Brisbane. Would love to find some work in the Gold Coast when I arrive next year. Thought with the commonwealth games looming in the future that they would have some big projects coming up. Anyone know if this is true??

Getting a reply for your question will be harder than trying to draw blood from a stone mate. I'm a licensed plumber in Perth and am looking to move to the Gold Coast in December/January. I have asked the same questions regarding commercial plumbing work. Jobs must be that scarce that those in the know don't want to say anything!

Try to find the big companies that offer EBA rates (union) and keep trying.

Getting a reply for your question will be harder than trying to draw blood from a stone mate. I'm a licensed plumber in Perth and am looking to move to the Gold Coast in December/January. I have asked the same questions regarding commercial plumbing work. Jobs must be that scarce that those in the know don't want to say anything!

Try to find the big companies that offer EBA rates (union) and keep trying.

What's made you want to move to the Gold Coast from Perth? I'm not making the move till August but just wanted a heads up before I get there. How's the Work front on Perth?

There must be work going on for the Commonwealth games. Not sure when they'll start. Presumably pretty soon.