ashbash

Going from WHV to 101 child visa as 24 year old Masters student.

My parents and brother came over on 457 3 years ago and have had PR for a year but I stayed behind to finish University. I graduated July (2014) and have come over on a Working Holiday Visa. I want to do a Masters however it is $25000 a year for 2 years. However if I apply as a child dependent on my parents I could get domestic fees ($6000).

The problem is the rules state that I could not apply until I have started the course in February but the Uni won't charge domestic fees until I have PR, and if I don't have PR by the end of March they will charge a whole year up front and would only be able to reduce the fees from the next semester.

Has anybody been in a similar situation with any help or advice? Thanks in advance.

You can't go from a whv to a child visa. As soon as you apply for a whv you are shown to not be dependent.

The only way is to not work until you start your course (you have to still be dependent) and pay the international fees. Even then it can be hit and miss at your age.

It's probably worth contacting a good MARA agent to see if you have any chance.

Has two beautiful Aussie little girls :-)

ashbash...you rally have made a major mistake here. You should have applied for the child visa the moment you completed your degree in the UK...if you could have proven you were totally being supported by your parents...the moment you got the WHV you are no longer eligible for apply for that visa. There is no going back...you now have to qualify in your own right for a migration visa....if you study in Australia it's international fees all the way even if your parents have to support you, you can no longer be considered their dependent for immigration purposes. Why or why did you get the WHV?????