Engineer's Skills Assessment - Confused!

Popee

Hello all,

I have been lurking these forums for a while and finally decided to put the wheels in motion to emigrate to Australia. I am looking to obtain a 189 skilled independent visa and I have a couple of questions that I hope someone can help clear up regarding skills Assessment from Engineers Australia.

I am educated to BEng (Hons) in Electrical Engineering & Electronics. My degree is recognized under the Sydney Accord (or Washington Accord but subject to further learning). From the literature I have read on the Engineers Australia website my degree will only allow me be classified as an Engineering Technologist and not an Electrical Engineer unless I carry out a CDR which I currently do not want to complete.

I have had quite a varied and somewhat accelerated career as opportunities and business needs have changed, I feel I fit into three potential categories that are on the SOL:- Engineering Manager, Electrical Engineer (CDR Route), Engineering Technologist.

My current & past roles are listed below along with duration:

• Lead Engineer (14 months - Current)
  • Electrical Project Manager (22 months)
  • Planning Engineer (9 months)
  • Project Engineer (7 months)
  • Graduate Trainee Engineer (24 months)

I'm looking to get 60 months experience in total so I can get more points, but I will take 36 months too.

Based on my degree which is recognized under the Sydney Accord, I could potentially be assessed as an Engineering Technologist or Engineering Manager (doubtful as I need managers reporting to me). If I am assessed in either category do you think all my experience will count? I can't really see anything regarding Electrical Project Managers, Planning or Project Engineers on EA's website. In addition I was on a 2 year IET accredited graduate engineer training scheme, do they count this as relevant experience? Anyone else have a view on this?

Thanks,

Popee :skeptical:

Guest dugles

Hi,