189 - Work experience assessment from CPA Australia

Raymund

I got positive assessment from CPA Australia but they need to include the IFRS/ACCA certification that I completed December of 2013 to get an exemption for accounting theory. So basically I passed all the core and mandatory subjects (12/12). I have 8 years work experience overseas as an accountant (in managerial positions) but on CPA Australia work experience assessment they only recognized from December 2013. I fall short of points if immigration will consider the CPA work experience assessment.

I did not hesitate to go on with my EOI using the full 8 year experience as I read on some blogs that work experience assessment is not mandatory.

I submitted my EOI for 189 (65points) and 190 (70points) last Thursday and claimed the 8 years work experience and received the invitation Sunday for 189. I’m happy to received the invitation so quick but then becomes worried for my work experience claim due to assessment result of CPA Australia.

Before applying for visa, I really want to make sure if I claim my work experience right and I can get the points needed. I am aware that the visa fee is non-refundable and I do not want to pay for US6,000+ (wife & daughter included) for something that I’m not sure and will have a record with immigration that I did not state the correct information.

Any help? Thank you in advance

Edited by Raymund

I don't think it is necessarily true that it is only work experience from December 2013 that counts, not for accountants, pre-qualification is sometimes counted. But OP needs to provide a bit more information - sounds like they are still not actually qualified but have just done some papers.