Feeling lonely in need of buddies

Hi guys

feeling really disappointed at moment have wanted to come to OZ for last ten years with caution. Had nice home, good job car and whole family but still wanted to live the dream having already been here three times already. Having now been here six weeks I'm a midwife don't like the job and I knew that would be different I accepted the first one I got offered as too worried to come here without one. We've received so much negative attitude towards us living near ipswich. We researched the area and are currently renting in springfield which is lovely and is up and coming . My husband hasn't found a job yet either and is bored to tears. We had a fantastic relationship with our neighbours back in the UK and we haven't even seen ours for more than five seconds and they don't appear to want to hold a conversation. We came with the attitude we wouldn't particularly look for areas where mainly English migrants lived as this didn't bother us and we were quite willing to be part of the australian way of life but are now becoming to think is this what we have to do now just to stop ourselves from going mad or booking a return flight. We haven't the opportunity to meet parents at the school gates as our daughter is 19 and son is in Sydney. Is there anyone else in and around springfield/springfield lakes wishing to meet up. We feel we've given up everything to be here and living here is not quite the same as a holiday x

I think after only 6 weeks you are maybe getting a bit ahead of yourself with the doom and gloom and have created unrealistic expectations about 'living the dream'. In my experience it can take time to establish yourselves, sometimes several years before all aspects come together such as meaningful friendships and a job you truly enjoy. Perhaps homesickness is clouding your judgements at this early stage.