Carpenters - advice on getting sponsored visas!

RachelManning89

Hi,

I'm currently level 2 NVQ qualified in carpentry, will be level 3 NVQ May 2015. Looking to work in Oz for a few years, moving September 2015. Hoping to get a sponsored visa, ideally a 457, as I don't want to do regional work.

However, it appears you have to undergo a TRA assessment before applying for a visa. Does anyone know if this costs? Or is there any way to get around this?

Is there an easier way to be able to work for up to 4 years, without having to do regional work?

Does anyone have any advice on the best route or path to take?

thanks

Sam

I'm by no means an expert but am currently in the process of doing this (well close) as a joiner.

A couple of questions for you, how old are you? How long have you worked as a carpenter?

TRA will need to be done yes, it costs money yes. That shouldn't be too much of a problem as you'll be fresh out of college with the certificates ready to send of and have check. If everything is ok, you'll then be required to attend a practical (if there is one available) or an interview with a qualified person in your trade via Skype. You'll then have to wait to hear back.

Have you thought about doing a working holiday visa? Doing the first year, then applying for the 2 year purely to get a taste? You mentioned the 4 years, why are you set on that?

I know I've only scratched the surface when it comes to questions but chances are @Rupert will come along and add something :)

Thanks Jack :)

I'm 24, been a carpenter 2 years, but had about 3/4 year extra site experience as well.

Do you know how much it'll cost to get the TRA done? Did think about the WHV, but not really interested in living in a regional area, doing regional work also the downside is you have to find a new employer every 6 months. I wanted to do 4 years so that if we get there and like it I'd like to have the possibility of applying for citizenship. Which you can do after 4 years.