SOL List 2014 Help!

marsh942

Hi all, looking for some guidance please! I am a carpenter from

Scotland and am looking to move to oz on a family sponsored 489 visa. It's taken me months to gather all my evidence and get it certified in order to apply for a skills Assessment to vic uni/vetassess. I've read a couple of things online that IMMI could be removing carpenter from the SOL from

july 2014 and with it being a 12/13 week turnaround for a skills assessment from receipt of payment there's no way I could get my skills assessed in time to send an EOI before July 1. So should I hold off applying for the SA until the 2014 SOL is published? And is the general consensus that carpenter will be removed from

The list? I'll be devastated if it is removed!

Even if Carpenter is taken off the SOL, it will remain on the CSOL and probably also on the lists of occupations eligible for state sponsorship by several states/territories (it's currently on at least 4). If you can get enough points for a Family Sponsored 489, that means you also have enough points for a State Sponsored 489. If you have the bare minimum of 60 points, you'll get a SS 489 far sooner than a FS 489 - the number of FS 489s is extremely limited and it's possible you could have a long wait before getting a visa. IMO, you should get your skills assessment and look into the possibility of getting a SS 489 instead of a FS489.

There are two lists - the SOL and the CSOL. If an occupation is only on the CSOL then it requires state or company sponsorship. Carpenter is unlikely to be removed from the CSOL and a number of states would probably keep it on their lists as eligible for state sponsorship. So, instead of using family sponsored 489, you could go via state sponsored 489 if it is only kept on the CSOL.