Leaving it all behind

DapperDirewolf

Hi everyone! This is my first post :)

I wanted to say hello and give a brief story of the plan my girlfriend and I have with moving temporarily (for now!) to Australia, and if anybody has any advice for us in any shape or form, it would be immensely appreciated!

I'm a multimedia developer (video, 3D, web, animation, games) with 5 years experience working at a marketing agency, and my girlfriend is a primary school teacher with 2 years since qualifying. We're both leaving behind great, well paid, stable jobs to spend at least a year in Oz on a working holiday visa. Everything is being left behind, and we're selling and storing many of our things.

We want to explore Oz in all it's glory, work almost anywhere that will have us - be it pulling pints at a pub or doing farm work with the WWOOFing registry. Ideally, either before, after, or in between seeing the sights, we would love to find work doing what we do right now, and luckily for me I can do a lot of my work online.

We have a budget and savings plan in place preparing for September when we plan to leave, and it's all looking good. Of course, having any form of income while out there is going to help us out a lot; I'd prefer not to spend every penny of our savings!

Frankly, the whole thing is terrifying. Exciting, yes, but also completely and utterly stomach-flipping scary as hell.

Any advice for two people who are leaving it all behind for a year or two of excitement and adventure? That is, unless we stay indefinitely!

Thanks guys :)

That's a great post and a great idea. Don't be too scared, Australia is absolutely set up for backpackers and is really easy to travel around with very few pitfalls so long as you don't go off driving off road in the outback or walking into the bush without letting anyone know where you are going! It's pretty safe out there compared to a lot of places you could be heading to.