new migrants to Oz - to do list

vickyplum

hello all

just wondering what the main paperwork type things are, for a newly arrived pom in oz...

change UK drivers licence to international?

register with medicare?

start "voluntary" NI payments back to UK?

sort out private healthcare insurance?

there must be loads more - can anyone help to grow the list?

Thanks!!

you would need to look it up for exact details, but it's to do with paying enough years of NI to "qualify" for full state pension (30 or 35 years, not sure which). If you haven't paid in for the full number of years, then your UK state pension will be pro-rated according to the years you did pay.

I am not a financial expert but this is my basic understanding of it!

Try here for a better explanation: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/ni/volcontr/toppingup.htm#1

you would need to look it up for exact details, but it's to do with paying enough years of NI to "qualify" for full state pension (30 or 35 years, not sure which). If you haven't paid in for the full number of years, then your UK state pension will be pro-rated according to the years you did pay.

do you mean you can get a state pension from the uk even if you live in australia? (I assumed I'd be giving up that entitlement if I left).

yes, if you have paid NI contributions for however many years. Take a look at the link above - it's fairly simply worded, considering it's tax/finance!

I might talk to a migration agent/financial advisor about it at some point, if I can work up the enthusiasm...

do you mean you can get a state pension from the uk even if you live in australia? (I assumed I'd be giving up that entitlement if I left).

Yes you can.

http://www.britishpensions.org.au/pension-guidelines.htm#No1

If you want to increase the amount, you can pay for extra years, too. Just bear in mind that if you're also eligible for the Australian pension, your British pension will be taken into account in the means test.