186 Direct Entry - ACS Skill Level Met Date and 3 years experience requirements from DIBP

Hi,

I've just been working in Australia for some months (since January) on a 457 in ICT. My employer is willing to sponsor me on a PR Visa, so I'm thinking of applying for a 186 VISA Direct Entry. This way I won't have to wait for another 2 years.

I have read all the information on DIBP website about 186 Direct Entry visa. It looks like I meet all the requirements. Still I'm being confused about the newly introduced Skill Level Met Date with the 3 year experience requirement from DIBP.

Here's a screenshot from DIBP's website:

skill-requirement.png

I had an Advanced Diploma in Jan 2008. I have been working continuously since April 2008 till now, through 3 different employers (including the current one). I lodged an ACS skill assessment last week and hopefully will get a positive result. In total, I'll have roughly more than 5 years of experience.

If 3 years of relevant work experience mentioned by DIBP is calculated from the Skill Level Met Date then I'm not eligible anymore... Can anybody shred some lights on this? Thank you very much.

skill-requirement.png

• 1 month later...

I have received my ACS Skill Assessment, and it was suitable

I'm not sure if I'm good to head on with a 186 VISA, attach is the result letter from ACS:

acs-skills.jpg

The reason: although ACS thinks that my skills were suitable, only the employment after May 2013 (after 5 years of experience) is considered to equate to work at an appropriately skilled level...

Although the 186 VISA said nothing about the skilled level met date except a requirement for 3 year experience, I'm not sure if DIBP will consider all my years of experience, or just the period after ACS's skilled level date.

I'm really appreciate if anyone can help. I don't want to gamble the VISA fee... Thank you very much!

acs-skills.jpg

Thanks blossom79.