AHPRA application with diploma-mental health nurse

Guest zoek

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the site so I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I handed in my AHPRA application in Sydney on 17/02/14. The lady I gave it to told me to check the website as the verification of qualifications process had changed two weeks prior.

When I looked I felt sick seeing that they had changed the requirement to degree level. I called and explained that although I have a diploma, I have 10 years experience. I was told that they would consider the application but looking at the site it seems pretty clear that this is not the case. I just wondered whether anyone else knew any more than I do or has any advice? I don't want to wait months for a rejection when I could be getting on with doing a degree...which I really don't want to do!

Thanks

Hi

I am not sure who gave you that advice, I am soon to be a nurse and have been following all the nursing posts for weeks waiting for the advice. There are 3 criteria that need to be met that people are struggling with, however a UK diploma is the same level as the Oz degree therefore it is still perfectly acceptable. If you look through the nursing threads there is guidance as to what you need to provide to prove you meet the 3 extra criteria. It may be that you need an extra letter from your university. Personally I would be emailing/phoning your uni today as soon as you locate these 3 extra criteria. I think its numbers 2,3 and 8 people are struggling with. 2 & 3 may be being provided by NMC direct to AHPRA and number 8 may be a letter from your uni but its early days so don't quote me....

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the site so I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I handed in my AHPRA application in Sydney on 17/02/14. The lady I gave it to told me to check the website as the verification of qualifications process had changed two weeks prior.