and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest planky

sponsorship

Guest planky

Hi all,

Anyone know the pros and cons of being sponsored....my heads in a turmoil with whats the best way to go!

Do we go for sponsor or go straight for 175visa? Does it actually make a difference?

Hubby wants me to go for sponsorship as we get there quicker!!

For all who don't know me I am a nurse, OH in IT.

Help!!!!!!

Guest billy braveheart

dont know the rate of pay a nurse is on going on a 457sponsored visa.

yes you get here quicker but you are tied to your employer for 2 years if you dont have a positive skills assessment and can go for pr visa straight away so if things dont work out you leave and you have 28 days to get another sponsor or leave the country,Wage wise (in the construction trade) you are paid less than other tradies doing the same job,you also dont get full medicare cover and if you purchase a house you dont get the $7000 first time buyers grant,You require FIRB approval and you pay stamp duty no matter the cost of the property(pr does not pay stamp duty on property up to the value of$500,000)Personally if it were me id hang in and wait on the skilled visa as you have better options

billy

Guest Mrs Braveheart

Hi Alison

Personally I would wait for 175 visa. I no 457 is quicker but consider this we have just applied for perm visa at a cost of $9,000 & then the wait again :arghh:. Your don't get first timer buyers grant of $7,000 & if coming to Perth would need to pay stamp duty if you decide to buy before you get PR. For us 457 sponsor was our only way to get here so wasnt a option for us. And as you no if sponsor doesn't work out you have 28 days to get a new sponsor or leave the country. Its a hard choice hun only you can decide. Not much help I no but hey :no:

Janette

x

Guest Mrs Braveheart

:biglaugh: U reading my mind Billy :biglaugh:

Guest billy braveheart

snap are you following me lol