Going back with no jobs(s)

3FatCats

So I was just wondering how many of the returnees went back to at least one job, and how many went back to none? Also, and I know this will depend on profession and job type, but how long did it take you all to secure employment?

As you can probably tell we are seriously considering the move back at some point next year, I am holding back because of fear mainly. Although I don't like it here we both have jobs and a steady income.

I also wondered if anyone has experience of UK employers frowning on Aussie work experience? Just crossed my mind that this might happen!

Many thanks

cats

We went back without jobs, I started looking 28th August when we son started back at school and started work 24th September so it took about 3 weeks.

It so depends on your field of work though (I'm an IT Manager) and whether you have kept your networks in the UK - not that my job was through contacts but having them meant I was confident and that comes across at interview :)

The last company I worked for in Australia was BT so that may have helped but my most recent experience being in Australia made no difference.

One minor difficulty was in the UK I had worked mainly in Finance, as that's where most of the work in Edinburgh is whereas in Australia I worked in Insurance then Healthcare so I was knocked back for a couple of roles for not having 'recent Financial Services experience' but the role I got was in one of the big 4 banks so it obviously didn't matter to them.

Edited by Lady Rainicorn