Facebook

I moved to perth almost 2 months back, I'm a mechanical engineer with over 5 years experience and have managed to have just one interview so far. Most of my job applications are through seek.com, what I have found most of the adds are by recruiters not by the companies; And these recruiters are mostly normal people with no experience in whatever field you are in.

Recently I was talking to a friend and he suggested I go directly to the companies and talk to the HR department, I like the idea but it seems a lot of work: first I'll have to find where their HR department located, second if they are even interested in interviewing/need people, third just traveling around, I don't have a car.

I would really like to hear from engineers who have managed to get job after arriving in perth and how they used to apply for jobs.

Seems like a lot of work?

well yes, unfortunately it is

sorry to be blunt but if you want a job you will have to put in the effort of finding the HR departments and talking to them etc

seek is fine but as you say they are not experts in your field

find companies you want to work for and get in touch, don't rely on seek etc. we have maybe 30-40 applications for any vacancy we put on seek so you would need Some good experience and qualifications to stand out.

we have employed several people who have put the time in to research us, tailor a cv and speak to HR

The major newspapers on a Wednesday and Saturday usually have a large employment section and I know the Age is where most would be looking on a Saturday in Melbourne. A lot of companies do not want to pay recruiters.

You could look at semi government departments, water, gas, electricity etc.

Also there are agencies that are specific for industry, need to google and see what comes up.

Seems like a lot of work?

well yes, unfortunately it is

sorry to be blunt but if you want a job you will have to put in the effort of finding the HR departments and talking to them etc