Reckon you got your 190 visa processed the quickest? I need your help.

Aywa17

Hello, I'm new to PomsInOz and am looking to got to Oz on a 190 SS visa.

I made the decision in June of this year to emigrate to Oz and had been looking at the 457 Employer Sponsored route but it seems extremely difficult to land a job without the existing right to work in Australia, especially if you're offshore. Plus at the time I didn't think I would qualify on the points based visas as I don't have a tertiary skilled occupation such as a teacher, nurse, plumber etc. I went to the London Opportunities Overseas Expo last weekend and after speaking to a few migration agents it would seem that I do qualify as my occupation is on the CSOL list. Yay! :-)

As such I'm at that crossroads now where I need to decide whether to use an agent, which doubles the total cost (I've been quoted £3k in MARA registered agent fees - Is this acceptable/over the odds?) or whether I apply without the support of an agent. I fear that going it alone may slow the process down some what as I'm no expert at this and don't know where to find all the right information and when I ned to do each bit.

To give you some background. I'm 29. A British citizen (born and bred) with a UK passport. I have no ties in the UK (partner/mortgage/tenancy agreement/dependants etc.) so can leave as soon as my visa is granted if I want. I have a BA Honours degree and would say my English ability is better than average (not excellent as such, but good nonetheless). I haven't done the IELTS, skills assessment or EOI yet. I have no medical conditions and have no criminal record. I spent 6 months in Australia on a WHV back in 2008/9 and always said I'd go back to live and the time is now right.