ANY advice welcomed! Should I stay or should I go?

Kiki2013

Hello and thanks for reading.

Im a 31 yr old female who came to Melbourne 2 yrs ago, alone on a PR visa. I am considering moving back home to the UK but am scared about regretting my decision and making it difficult if I do want to return to oz. I can't seem to get any balanced opinions from friends/family. Obviously those that I love would love me to go back and some friends think I'd be 'crazy' to return.

Reasons I'm considering going back: I'm lonely, despite efforts to make friends (I have a handful), its not the same as been back home and I feel my friendship group is lacking (ive tried meet up groups etc). My career.. There's little opportunity for promotion and as a midwife I feel I'm losing my skills, doing less. Reasons to stay.. I can apply for citizenship 2015 ( this feels forever away at the moment) the climate and the 'quality' of life etc. I know going home will be tough and returning to my old place of work will be difficult as colleagues have 'leap frogged' me in promotion etc. I just don't know what to do. Pros and cons seem pretty even. My heart says UK my head Melbourne.

Im sorry if this sounds 'airy, fairy', I just think if I could get some feedback from people who understand, been there, done that and can share their experiences it will help. Especially how you found fitting in back home.

Many thanks

kiki