You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

scottishsmudge

First Post! Electrician getting leg lifted?!?

Hi,

I'm new to this and hoping to get my head straight after being bamboozled by information. Myself, my partner and 9 year old daughter are thinking of moving to Australia, if we can find our way through the mountain of emigration info. We are looking at either Victoria or NSW.

I am 30, and she is 29. I'm an SJIB graded approved electrician, and would like to continue my trade over there.

I contacted an agent for some advice and rough prices, and an extact of one of his emails is below...

We would charge you a fee of £1,850 +VAT (payable over 9 months)

Vetassess Trades is $2,200 AUD (about £1,350) paid in two installments - $600 to submit all relevant paperwork and $1,600 to do the practical test

Visa fees are $3,520 + $1,760 + $880 AUD (about £3,750)

Medical checks will cost you about £800 for the 3 of you (done here in Edinburgh)

Police checks for you and your good lady is £90

English test (www.ielts.org) is £130

So in total, you would be looking at approximately £8,500.

Does this look normal? am i getting my leg lifted???? I appreciate this may be a long process (we are looking to do it slowly and steadily over 2 years).

any helps/tips/advice greatly appreciated. Thanks

I don't know if you are getting your leg pulled, but I do know it can be an expensive process.

Not sure about the agents fees, as we aren't using one but the costs for all the application bits and pieces look spot on. Vetasses down to Ielts.

ACS: 20/04/13 | ICAA: 04/06/13 | Applied 189: 20/06/13 | CO: ​27/08/13 | Grant: 16/10/13

That's just for starters, then you will have to get licenced!