Should I rent or sell my UK property when I move to Oz?

FifiJ

Hi, I am moving to Australia in a year. I have been wondering whether I should sell my house in the UK or rent it out ? I know it has lost approx 15% of it's last valuation in 2008. I spent quite a lot of money extending and renovating the house. If I sell now I might get back just the total of what I bought the house for nine years ago plus what I have spent on it since. This would give me approx £30k after the mortgage has been repaid and estate agents costs etc.

If I rent out I will not cover the whole mortgage costs each month. I expect though that there would be tax deductable expenses . If I become a permanent resident in Australia after two years would I be liable to pay tax on my earnings from the rental in Australia or in the UK. If I didn't sell the house until I was a permanent resident in Australia would I be liable for any Capital gains tax either in the UK or Australia? (This all assumes that I will rent in Australia until then ) .If anyone has experience of moving to Australia and renting out their UK property I would be interested to hear about their experience and any advice /thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Hello there ,we moved to Vic in2010 ,we rented our uk home out .All good really but realised that without the equity from the sale of our UK home we will never afford an Aussie home without working 24/7 till we were 70 if the exchange rate was 1.5 or so. So returned back to uk hoping to see the dollar weaken to at least 2 to 1 before we could ever consider returning . Bottom line DO NOT COME OFF THE MORTGAGE LADDER in the uk because its going to be harder to get back on it if the Aussie trip does not pan out. Rent your house out and see in 12 months because Aussie cannot sustain the level of house prices it has and the housing bubble will burst sooner or later.