Carpenter- do you need skills assessmennt

Hi

we are coming out next year under my quals. My husband is a carpenter with 20+ yrs experience. Does he need to have the skills assessment done in the UK before we leave or is his CV enough? I've had mixed reviews on this but don't want to waste money on getting his skills equalised to an Aussie qualification if I don't have to.

Thanks

sal

You don't have to in Victoria, not sure about the other states but you should ba able to find out on the respective government websites. Be aware that there are a lot of unemployed trades out here at the moment, in Melbourne anyway, I've been looking for six weeks and not had a sniff of work yet.

so why is there all this stuff that Aus is short of construction workers. When in reality theres zilch?? im a carpenter just starting my 189 visa application. I have lots of work here in uk and was told by most agents that carpentry work in Aus is very sought after. im getting a bit worryed now. Im heading around the east coast looking at sunshine coast.

Thanks Sal :)