Information about renting in Australia

Hi everybody!

In the next 3 months i am moving with my spouse to Australia and I was just wondering what is the best way to go about renting houses etc. Should my partner go over first?? should i bring furniture over?? Is it possible to get a fully- furnished household?? Since it is my first time moving abroad I am very confused on which way to go about moving!! Its quite dear to rent please if anyone has any information let me know asap.

Thanks

Kirsty

Hi Kirsty,

Where will you be moving to? I ask because each State and Territory has its own legislation around renting, so the specifics tend to be different between areas.

Generally you are easily able to rent fully furnished properties from overseas Just do a google search for fully furnished apartments in the area you're moving to and check out the results.

If you do bring furniture over, keep in mind that it can take up to three months for it to actually arrive - longer if there are delays in unloading or due to bad weather. Just something to keep in mind if you are planning on bringing over furniture etc.

Renting is expensive unfortunately, for example in Perth an unfurnished three bedroom property which is a half hour drive to the city can easily rent for $400-$450 a week.

Feel free to search this site for info as well, you will find that lots of others have asked the same questions you're asking :)

Regards

Jen :)

Edited by The Pom Queen
Forum rules

Hi, furnished properties tend to be short term lets, eg a few weeks. These allow you to sort yourselves out and find a log term rental etc before your container arrives. Long term lets (6 months +) tend to be unfurnished, they will have an oven, may have a dishwasher but probably wont have a fridge or anything else.

BB