Construction Management/Project Management

DaveMac27

Hi all!

Im Heading out to Melbourne in august on a WHV. I plan on traveling for a month or 2 before finding work.

I have a Degree in Construction Project Management and 7 years experience. Im pretty laid back on the location so could someone point me in the direction of where best to find work. Also would i need a blue/white card?

Cheers,

Dave

Hi all!

Im Heading out to Melbourne in august on a WHV. I plan on traveling for a month or 2 before finding work.

I have a Degree in Construction Project Management and 7 years experience. Im pretty laid back on the location so could someone point me in the direction of where best to find work. Also would i need a blue/white card?

Cheers,

Dave

Start by having a look on seek.com.au.

good luck.

Mate,

yes you will need a white card. Although Melbourne is quiet at the moment in construction. I don't want to dampen your spirits but the following are facts.

construction companies are generally avoiding WHVs and 457 and want to see some longevity in employment and commitment. If you can demonstrate this then there is a hope that you could be given an opening.

employers do not want to run the risk of expending costs of employing you only to bugger off in 12 months or less.

There are lots of Aussies here at the moment with quals and experience. Having said that some companies do like poms as UK degrees are generally better quality.

There is not much work in Sydney or Brisbane either but there are signs of it starting to pick up, however it's very competitive. There have been a good few tier 2 builders going under in the last 12 months and this has spewed out alot of people in to the market place. Some good people and a lot of dross, and trust me there is a lot of dross in the industry. This abundance of available people means employers can be extra selective in their staff so you need to pull something special out of the hat.