blobby1000

A word of warning

Hello everybody!

Now safely back in the UK I want to tell you a story. Please note, I will be naming no names (only places). This is meant entirely as a warning, something to be aware of, and not a bitter rant about our time in Australia. I wish we had been prepared. I wish we had been less naïve and I wish we had listened to either of two wonderful quotes:

"If something seems to good to be true, it probably is"

And

"There's no such thing as a free lunch"

Anyway, have a read, it might help you out if you are considering a move down under...just a few things to consider:

I'm a mental health nurse. We have 2 kids, who were 3 and 6 months when we left the UK. We fancied a change and we fancied a better life. I answered an advert in The Nursing Standard...you know the type...palm fringed beaches, blues skies...turquoise waters...."Come here and have a better life etc" So I applied.

I was given an interview by the agent who told me a few key things:

*Nobody pays relocation costs to Australia because jobs are over subscribed

*Its very difficult to get a mental health nursing job in Australia as it is so popular but they may be able to help/

They organised an interview with a chap in Melbourne for a job at "The prestigious Royal Melbourne Hospital in the City" and he offered me a job.

During the interview for the job I was told a few key things:

*There are no HCAs (these an unqualified nurses....more qualified equals easier work as more expertise, so this was sold to me as a big advantage).

*I would be going into an established team.

*Brand new multi-million dollar ward.

*Sponsorship for Permanent Residency within 3 months.

I accepted the job. No hesitation.

We got our visa. We shipped our goods.